Double Tap Question

Users who are viewing this thread

centurion

Reaction score
I understand is it not acceptable and not to code to put multiple neutrals together on one neutral bus lug, unless the manufacturer of the box specifically allows it.
I am a realtor and see a lot of home inspections. Almost all of the homes around here, Central NJ, that are in the 20 to 30 year age range, have all or most of the neutrals on one lug. Many of these boxes, including my own home, have not been touched since the house was built and still have the approval sticker on them from when they were originally inspected.
So my question is, has something changed? Was it acceptable practice to do this before? Did the code change, if so when?
I am just curious to know why I see so many homes with this that were inspected and approved.
Anybody know? Thanks.

Cookie

Reaction score
Hello, at that time code allowed that. It is no longer code to do that, but you are grandfathered in. Should the panel be changed it wouldn't be allowed. I also, see it, too.

You are allowed to have more than one wire but, you won't see 15 or 20 altogether. I am thinking that is what you are seeing. Some city could require one wire per lug, but that is something the city would require and not the NEC.

I might be wrong but a double tap would be a wire connected to a part of the panel directly connected to the power pole with no protection inbetween.

Last edited:

centurion

Reaction score
Hello, at that time code allowed that. It is no longer code to do that, but you are grandfathered in. Should the panel be changed it wouldn't be allowed. I also, see it, too.

You are allowed to have more than one wire but, you won't see 15 or 20 altogether. I am thinking that is what you are seeing. Some city could require one wire per lug, but that is something the city would require and not the NEC.