Does this plan for DWV look OK?

Users who are viewing this thread

Greenmountain

Reaction score
sorry for the sloppyness...
total diy beginner here... hoping this layout is not too far off. obviously not to scale...
I colored in the 2" pipe; the vent line is 1.5"
distance from utility sink trap to main stack is <3' so no need for vent there right?

Scan_20161213.jpg

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
The laundry sink is an "S" trap, and no matter what SIZE pipe or how close to a vent, it is still illegal. The horizontal vent line has to be 42" above the floor, OR 6" above the standpipe or laundry sink, whichever dimension is HIGHER. However, not all inspectors will allow a "loop vent" unless it is absolutely the only way to vent the sink.

Greenmountain

Reaction score
ok, is this any better?

w/m standpipe trap will be about 8" above floor... (sorry that's not clear to see in drawing)
would be around 18" from standpipe to vent.

Is a 3' run ok if it runs straight to stack (no S-trap)?

replaced kit sink loop with aav...

Scan_20161214.jpg
loop vent with aav

Need more vents. Utility sink is set up as an S-Trap. Standpipe needs to be above floor and vented. Take a read through this:
http://www.co.lincoln.or.us/sites/d..._-_helpful_hints_residential_construction.pdf

Greenmountain

Reaction score
also, just to clarify... once a trap arm runs horiz at least 2x it's diam, it can then turn down, and not be an S-trap??

Reach4

Reaction score
If you are running that vent through the roof yourself, http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=2141 says it has to stick up 12 inches or more. Many cold areas require increasing the size for the vent before it goes through the roof.
https://law.resource.org/pub/us/code/ibr/icc.ipc.2009.pdf says