DIY Question: Replace Partial Cast Iron Sewer Stack

Users who are viewing this thread

cmacnichol

Reaction score
Hello All,

I have an old house, build early 1900's, that has an old cast iron sewer stack going to the first floor bathroom. Unfortunately it seems that the line is having a lot of draining issues and no amount of drain cleaner or snakes have helped. At this point I have decided to just go ahead and replace the stack with an all PVC one.

My question here is, how hard of a job is this and is it something that I can do myself? Plumping has never bothered me, but I have never done a main sewer stack before.

Luckily, after looking at it closer it seems that work has done on it in the past. The main sewer line coming into the house is PVC and it hooks into a another PVC Y before transitioning to Cast Iron via rubber sleeve.

My other concern is that this line currently does not have any kind of vent in the system that I can find, so that will need to be added as well. The attached image should explain how it is currently a lot better then I can.

The only other thing I am uncertain about is an offshoot from the top is hooked to an older cast iron tub, I have NO Idea how to unhook and install a new drain on that.

Thoughts? Advice?

Attachments

• IMG_0271.JPG
    IMG_0271.JPG
    81.6 KB · Views: 1,097

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
Well, the PVC looks like it was done by a handyman or DIYer. ANY vents would NOT be visible in the basement so you don't know if you have any or not. VERTICAL cast iron lines seldom "have problems" so your diagnosis may be faulty. Call a plumber.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Well, the PVC looks like it was done by a handyman or DIYer. ANY vents would NOT be visible in the basement so you don't know if you have any or not. VERTICAL cast iron lines seldom "have problems" so your diagnosis may be faulty. Call a plumber.