DIY Bathroom Remodel questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Chris4x4Gill2

Reaction score
High guys, I'm attempting to remodel a small bathroom and this is my first attempt at something like this so I want to run my game plan by people with experience to get some feedback and tips.

I am keeping the layout of the room the same, so I do not anticipate having to move any plumbing fixtures. The house is 1980 construction, and everything in the bathroom seems to be original to the house. House is single story on a slab.

My biggest questions are with the tub replacement. I currently have a 30"x60" tub/shower combo. It has cracks in the bottom (seems to be made out of fiberglass?) I am assuming there is sheetrock behind the shower walls? I can not fit a single piece replacement unit through the door, and the mrs does not like the idea of a 3 or 5 piece unit being installed so my plan is to buy a tub and tile the walls for use as a shower. Here is my game plan, please tell me where steps are missing or if there are options that may be better or easier than what I have listed.

1) remove old shower. (looks like i'll be cutting this into several pieces to get it out of the door - reciprocating saw / sawzall)

2) remove any drywall behind shower. - plan is to score drywall at edge of tub prior to removal of shower. I do not know if there is a stud at the edge of the tub, I will add one if there is not to allow for installation of the backerboard later.

3) replace any plumbing necassary for installation of new shower head

4) install tub

5) install plastic membrane over studs ( is this needed? I have read conflicting opinions.) I am planning on using plastic sheeting stapled to the studs with it ending at the lip of the tub.