Disposal works but water isn't draining

Users who are viewing this thread

Terryb

Reaction score
Hi -
My garbage disposal was working fine earlier today but then when I ran water in the sink a little later in the day - the water wouldn't drain.

I have a Sinkmaster Model 450, double sink with dishwasher. I do not have any information on the disposal - it came with the house when I bought it 5 years ago.

After baling the water out, I tried it again without running any water and it seems to run fine, water was spraying out from somewhere in the disposal, and it ground up the piece of food I put in it. I ran some more water and it just sat there.

I know absolutely nothing about plumbing. The other sink drains fine so I am inclined to think that there is something wrong with the disposal or a clog in it.

Do you know what might be causing the sink not to drain? Hopefully, it is a quick fix that I can do myself. Also, there does not appear to be a jam.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score
It's not the disposal; you have a clog under the sink. Probably need to disassemble the p-trap.

Terryb

Reaction score
Thanks for the quick response.

Is that fairly easy to do or do I need to call a plumber?

Terryb

Reaction score
Is the p-trap the curved pipe or is it the pipe that is straight and goes from the disposal to the other sink's drain?

If it is the curved one - not sure how that can be clogged since the other sink drains just fine into that pipe.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
tee

If it were the trap the water would be coming up in the other sink when you turned on the disposer. The plug is in the tee where the disposer pipe connects to the pipe going down to the trap. It is a little more involved than just removing the trap, but with a little thought you will see how to unfasten it.

Jimbo

Plumber
Reaction score