Difference Btw Softener vs Filter Settings

Users who are viewing this thread

drp37

Reaction score
Hi, I have a water softener (Clack control valve). It's setup as a filter. As a newbie, I don't know the difference between a filter setup vs softener setup. Can someone please explain. Thanks in advance.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
A Clack water softener valve is nearly identical to the filter valve. The softener has a brine piston, brine assembly, and an injector as well as it will usually have a different electronic board. Filter valves typically have 2 cycles, backwash and fast rinse, a softener will have 5 or more cycles.

Reach4

Reaction score
A Clack water softener valve is nearly identical to the filter valve. The softener has a brine piston, brine assembly, and an injector as well as it will usually have a different electronic board. Filter valves typically have 2 cycles, backwash and fast rinse, a softener will have 5 or more cycles.
Would the filter valve normally not have the demand measuring turbine?

drp37

Reaction score
Thanks for the information. I notice that in the filter setup setting there is no option to set the hardness in grains or grains capacity. How does the system know how much salt to use and "soften" the water?

Reach4

Reaction score
I notice that in the filter setup setting there is no option to set the hardness in grains or grains capacity. How does the system know how much salt to use and "soften" the water?
Filters don't use salt. Some can have a solution tank that you draw from during regeneration, but there would not be a fill cycle. Filters usually regenerate on a fixed schedule.

Filters will normally be set up for a higher backflow rate, but that is not a setup setting that you can change without changing a part.

drp37

Reaction score
Hmmm...I'm a little confused...