Deep well pump is close to 50 years old.

Users who are viewing this thread

Stanley75

Reaction score
My well pump is close to 50 years old. My neighbors pump is a year older than mine. Should I replace now or wait for failure? I think it is red jacket pump (the controls are). The well cap (6 inch) has four bolts on top. Do I just loosen them a turn or two to get the cap off? What are the odds the bolts will loosen? Never worked on a well pump before. Thanks

Reach4

Reaction score
If it were me, if you have a 3-wire pump with a control box, I would replace the capacitor. The old pump might be good for another 10 years or so. Ask what the expected life of a new pump is. The answer may be 8 years or so. I am not a pro.

I would research local well people so you know who to call if the pump stops working.

I suggest that you post a photo of the cap you are thinking of lifting. Is your water good?

Stanley75

Reaction score
If it were me, if you have a 3-wire pump with a control box, I would replace the capacitor. The old pump might be good for another 10 years or so. Ask what the expected life of a new pump is. The answer may be 8 years or so. I am not a pro.

I would research local well people so you know who to call if the pump stops working.

I suggest that you post a photo of the cap you are thinking of lifting. Is your water good?

Stanley75

Reaction score
I did replace the capacitor about 8 years ago. Water is good, pump is working OK. Just don't want to have to deal with a dead pump in the winter. Seems like everything else I own is breaking so figure the pump will be next. Posted a picture of the well cap.

Attachments

• SDC11911.JPG
    SDC11911.JPG
    116.3 KB · Views: 411

Cacher_Chick

Test, Don't Guess!
Reaction score