Deep Well issues, looking for help

Users who are viewing this thread

advocation

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Let me start off by saying I am by no means an expert or know a lot about deep wells. What I know has been from research on the internet and through these forums. Now, onto the problem...

I am purchasing a house that currently has well issues. From what I have been told, it is a very old well (at least 40 years) as it has 2 inch pipe for the well. The bladder tank and deep well pump are in the basement, which I can only guess the pump is about 15 years old, and god knows how old on the bladder tank. At this time, I am not positive at the depth of the well.

The issue we are having is that the pump will not get above 32 psi. The pump will constantly run at this pressure, but will never budge any further even with the water to the house shut off. Now, we have adjusted it so the shut off right now is at about 30 psi (so at least the well won't run forever), but of course it will not kick on until almost zero pressure. The actual water pressure appears to be fine throughout the house, and it seems to be able to run for over an hour without a problem. My question is, what do the experts and guru's here think the problem may be? Could it be a bad pump/ejector/bladder tank; or do you think it simply needs a whole new well? I would rather not have to spend the 5,000 on a new well, and am hoping that a pump and maybe ejector will at least help out the problem.

Any suggestions or thoughts?

advocation

Reaction score
Start with a new pump and work your way through the issues.
Well, this was my plan but I figured I'd see if other people had the same issue(s) and what it might be. No sense in wasting money on a pump if a lot of people have seen this problem, and say it was the bladder tank......
Also, from what i've read they say to replace both the pump and ejector at the same time. Is this needed? For 2", the kits are quite expensive around $150.

Last edited: