CVPC to Shower valve?

Users who are viewing this thread

JBoo

Reaction score
First off, thanks for everyone contributing to this forum. It has been helpful to a novice like me.
Now down to the nitty-gritty, I am in the midst of a shower remodel and need some insight. The water lines from my concrete foundation are CVPC (1/2"). The CVPC is connected to copper which is then ran to my shower valve. Copper is also ran from my valve to the shower head.
I would like to replace my valve w/ a new one. I have no experience working w/ copper pipe. Can I use CVPC in place of the copper, essentially eliminating all the copper pipe in the shower area? :confused:

Cass

Plumber
Reaction score
JBoo said:
First off, thanks for everyone contributing to this forum. It has been helpful to a novice like me.
Now down to the nitty-gritty, I am in the midst of a shower remodel and need some insight. The water lines from my concrete foundation are CVPC (1/2"). The CVPC is connected to copper which is then ran to my shower valve. Copper is also ran from my valve to the shower head.
I would like to replace my valve w/ a new one. I have no experience working w/ copper pipe. Can I use CVPC in place of the copper, essentially eliminating all the copper pipe in the shower area? :confused:

Sure, but personally I don't like CPVC. I wouldn't use anything behind a shower wall but copper, but thats just me. Why don't you want to use copper?

Cal

In the Trades
Reaction score
J BOO,

You will need to get a shower valve that has 1/2" female ips threads for it's connections. Then you will need 1/2" BRASS (Male threads) to 1/2" cpvc adaptors. Please DON'T use 1/2" cpvc male adaptors,,,,could be a bad issue.

Thread the new adaptors into the valve body and off you go with all cpvc.

You will also need a 1/2" cpvc/brass wing ell for the shower head. You should get all this at a supply house instead of a big box store.

cal

JBoo

Reaction score