curiosity ... Why are tub drains designed to require a slot in the floor?

Users who are viewing this thread

Tbbarch

Reaction score
I'm studying a tub installation and am wondering why tub drains do not go straight through the floor instead of doing a 90 requiring cutting a slot out of the floor.

Couldn't the lateral just as easily be below the floor?

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
quote; Couldn't the lateral just as easily be below the floor?

OF course, but then you would have to make a box under the ceiling for the "P" trap. It would be easier if you just turned the tub so the joists were parallel to the drain line. Or, if you do not want to turn the tub, have the framers run the joist the other way.

Tbbarch

Reaction score
So ... the entire point is to not have a trap hang into a possible ceiling below?

That 1" of added pipe would not seem to make that happen.

As I said it is a curiosity. It looks like the drain stopped evolving after footed tubs were made into apron tubs.

Asktom

Reaction score
The current configuration allows for a simple trip lever stop. The real question is why is the drain in the center so there is a floor joist in the way 1/2 the time. The drain should be set to one side or the other to avoid this problem. Then there would be left hand tubs with left side drains, left hand tubs with right side drains, right hand tubs with right side drains and right hand tubs with left side drains. That would simplfy things.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com