contract for a shared well?

Users who are viewing this thread

rancocasrich

Reaction score
I am a newbie on the forum and my request may already be in the archives. We share a newly drilled well with our neighbors. Our neighbors are my wife's nephew and his wife. We have a very good relationship and total harmony on water usage from the well and all other matters. Our cottages are vacation residences. We use ours about 8 weeks a year. Our nephew and wife use theirs every weekend from spring through fall and during some weeks in the summer. They are significant caretakers for our cottage when we are not there.

We want to have a well/water contract in case one of us decides to sell our place. There is no intent in using the contract unless that happens but we each think it is good to have one in place before it is needed.

Does anyone have suggestions or samples for a water/well contract?

Thanks

Bob999

Reporter
Reaction score
Laws in different states vary but typically you will need some type of document that is filed as a part of the property records of the county where you live to provide the kind of protection you seem to be seeking. You would be best off consulting with a local attorney who specializes in real estate law.

Ballvalve

General Engineering Contractor
Reaction score
I have written several well share contracts, and you absolutely need one. The fastest route to a free one is to go to your title company and review some they did [if your area uses title companies] They will provide it cheap or free. Otherwise just go to the hall of records [recorders office] in your county and pull up the micro film with hundreds of them in the public domain - free and for the choosing, then modify it to fit your plan.