Continuous drain flow, water softener

Users who are viewing this thread

wikid

Reaction score
Hello all. I have a rainsoft silver series softner. The drain hose that i guess flushes out system when doing a regen just keeps dripping. I had this issue a year or two back and cleaned out the valves where it opens and closes to let the water drain and it worked. I did this once again and it still continues to drip. I dont see anything out of the ordinary and an engineer by trade but this ones got me stumped. Anyone have any ideas? Gladly appreciated.

ditttohead

Water systems designer, R&D
Reaction score
I believe that unit uses a piston/seal/spacer design. A slow drip to the drain usually indicates a worn seal or a damaged piston. These should be replaced as a kit.

Reach4

Reaction score
Hello all. I have a rainsoft silver series softner. The drain hose that i guess flushes out system when doing a regen just keeps dripping. I had this issue a year or two back and cleaned out the valves where it opens and closes to let the water drain and it worked. I did this once again and it still continues to drip. I dont see anything out of the ordinary and an engineer by trade but this ones got me stumped. Anyone have any ideas? Gladly appreciated.

I would consider a whole house sediment filter. That should help your new rebuild kit from getting scratched up. Maybe just going through the motions of rebuilding would help. I have never done a rebuild on a piston valve unit. I have cleaned the flappers on an old Autotrol.