Common Wire

Users who are viewing this thread

Giles

Retired tool & Die and Mechanic
Reaction score
I have heard several definitions of "common wire". I have heard some people refer to the common as the hot and others refer to the neutral as being common.
What is the definition of common when used in wiring?

Cookie

Reaction score
I am not an electrician but, I define a common wire by what I am connecting to it. I am not sure if this is what you meant.

Speedy Petey

Licensed Electrical Contractor
Reaction score
There is typically one place for the term "common" in AC building wiring. It is the odd wire in a 3-way switching scheme. The other two wires are typically called the travelers.

A neutral is NOT a "common".

Some HID fixtures use the term "com" in ballast wiring, but this can be a neutral or hot depending on the feed.

MaintenanceGuy

In the Trades
Reaction score
nobody calls either of these wires a "common" wire.

A neutral wire can be "common" to several different circuits in your house and you can run a special circuit called a "multiwire branch circuit" where both halves of the circuit share a neutral but it's not called a "common" wire by anyone I've ever known or worked with.

A common wire usually refers to control circuits such as the low voltage circuits for a lawn irrigation system that run out to each electrically operated valve. In these arrangements, one common wire loops from valve to valve. Each valve also gets its own power wire to turn the valve on and off.

Thatguy

Homeowner
Reaction score
Common (to more than one load).

I guess it could be said the hot and the neutral are common to all the outlets connected to them.

The "wiper" terminal in a 3 way switch (a SPDT switch) could be called common because at one time or another it is connected to each of the other two terminals.
Same with the wiper of a rotary switch.

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=define:+common&aq=f&oq=

Cookie

Reaction score
That guy,