Clunking and vibrating in water valve? Help.

Users who are viewing this thread

frank coviello

Reaction score
Newbie here. I have two toilets that are in seperate rooms and one wall seperates the toilets. One of the toilets had a problem with the fill valve so I drained the tank, turned off the water valve and took out the old fill valve. The only part I left was the part that was screwed into the bottom of the tank. Purchased a replacement fill valve, installed it properly and when I went to turn my water valve back on the tank started to slowly fill but there was alot of clunking and vibrating in the valve and pipe. It seemed like the pipes had run dry of water or something like that. Tried it a few more times but the clunking continued. My wife came home and I wanted her to hear the clunking and when I went to turn the water valve on this time absolutely nothing happens. No clunking, no vibrating and no water. It seems to me like the pipe has gone dry. The other toilet in the other room seems to be working just fine. No problems or clunking with that valve when I turn it on and off. I just don't have a clue where to go with this one.

Any suggestions? Thx.

Verdeboy

In the Trades
Reaction score
When you turned the shutoff valve off and then on, you probably loosened some debris.

If you're lucky, this debris hasn't clogged up your new fill valve.

Unscrew the toilet supply line from the shutoff valve and turn on the valve for a second (use a bucket to catch the water). If you have water pressure there, screw the supply line back on the valve and unscrew it at the top, where it goes into the fill valve and repeat with the bucket. If you still have pressure, screw it back on the tank and unscrew the top of your new fill valve and repeat again with the bucket until you've flushed out the debris.

Note: if you see a bunch of crud in the bucket, you'll know you've cleared out the blockage.

frank coviello

Reaction score