Choosing an indirect fired water heater

Users who are viewing this thread

gojoe3

Reaction score
I am surprised to see that there is not a separate "indirect fired water heater" thread? forum?

Terry, would you consider adding one under the "Water Heater Forum and Blog" category.

I did a search on this site for "indirect water heater" and the few threads I found were all older.

Am I missing something? Or is this just not a popular topic?

This is my scenario :

I am a general contractor in southern Ct. and am doing research for my customer.
The plumber I use and my customer's plumber have given us a few options.
We are all set on sizing. My customer is wary because he had a glass lined
storage tank in the past, it failed and flooded his finished basement
and he's been living with a poor quantity of hot water from the existing
(probably scale fouled) tankless coil in his oil burner. I explained to him
that it probably failed because he never maintained the anode. He wants
my opinion, on stainless versus lined because I have more knowledge about
his water quality. I recently had his well water tested before and after his water
conditioner (softener). I wanted to find out if the softener was doing its
job and if it was properly sized for his home and his water quality.
Then I could consider what type of hot water storage I would advise he
choose. Both plumbers gave us similar options of going with a storage
tank or an indirect and options for stainless or lined with anode(s).

The water tests showed 7 gpg hardness a pH of 6.7 and 16.5 mg/L of
chloride before and after the .75 cubic foot (24,000 grain) conditioner.
This proved my theory that the 16 year old conditioner was not doing
its job. After analyzing their water consumption and usage patterns,
checking the performance of the well and pressure tank, measuring the
static pressure and gpm flow at the tank and various fixtures throughout
the home we concluded that a new water softening system would be the