ceiling fan and wiring questions

Users who are viewing this thread

Todd Groendyke

Reaction score
Hello:
I recently purchased a 1950's house and I want to install a ceiling fan in the bedroom where there was a light fixture.

The attached photos are the light fixture removed viewed from the bedroom with the wiring exposed and the fixture as viewed from the attic. I'm a novice with wiring, but it struck me as odd that there appears to be a white neutral bundled together with some hot wires (wiring bundle on the left).

Question 1: Is there ever a reason to connect a neutral to a bundle of live wires, or was this a mistake by someone? Does this photo raise any other safety/red flags?

Question 2: Does the existing support structure look sufficient to bear the weight of a ceiling fan. Its a metal rod attached by one screw at each end to the joists.

Thank you so much for your time!!

Attachments

• bottom.jpg
    bottom.jpg
    38.6 KB · Views: 1,263
  • top.jpg
    top.jpg
    65.1 KB · Views: 1,286

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
The box is being used as a junction box, so yes, it is not uncommon to have multiple neutrals ( and hots) tied together there. Today, you'd find a wire nut or crimp on those wires...just twisting them together is not great, and that could be an issue. The only issue may be the box fill requirements...the size of the box must be sufficient for the number of cables coming in. Without knowing the actual volume of that box, can't say if it meets today's code. Last, not all boxes are rated to hold a ceiling fan. If it was not rated for that, you risk having it pull the whole thing loose and fall down on top of you.

ActionDave

Electrician
Reaction score
Question 1: Is there ever a reason to connect a neutral to a bundle of live wires, or was this a mistake by someone? Does this photo raise any other safety/red flags?
It is not a mistake. It is not a neutral either. It is power down to a switch.