Cast iron toilet flange replacement

Users who are viewing this thread

peterf

Reaction score
Hello all,
I am new to the remodeling business and have not come across needing to replace a cast iron toilet flange before. As you can see in the pictures, the flange is attached deep below the floor into a drain elbow. The flange is in decent condition but sits above my new finished floor height by way too much. I was wondering what my best options are. I thought maybe i could cut the pipe at about floor level, leaving that little stub down below the floor, and fit some sort of special pvc toilet flange either inside the pipe or on the outside, but I'm not sure which would work and what is available. I would think that new pvc flange would be adjustable to the finished height of the tile floor. Can somebody help me out? This link shows something I think would work.

photo (1).jpgphoto (3).jpg

Attachments

• genova_toilet_flange.jpg
    genova_toilet_flange.jpg
    10.1 KB · Views: 2,443
Last edited by a moderator:

Hackneyplumbing

Homeowner
Reaction score
The cast Iron flanges that I install with lead and oakum slip over cast iron pipe.Iif this is the case with yours then I would remove the existing flange with a hammer by breaking the flange portion off and using a cold chisel to split the flange in two places. The flange would then fall off the pipe.

I would then cut the pipe off witha grinder at my finished floor height. after the finished floor is installed I would lead in a new cast iron flange.

Goodluck to you.

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score