Can't get faucet cartridge unscrewed

Users who are viewing this thread

Sluggo

Reaction score
I'm doing a master bath remodel in a 14-year old house and decided to replace the cartridges in the two faucet valves and the two shower valves. From the looks of some of the ones I pulled, it was probably a good idea. They look like this (new replacement on the right, old cartridge on the left):
P1110423 (Large) (2).JPG

The threads above the O-ring are what screw in to the valve body; and the hex fitting you use to screw the cartridge in or out is located right above the bottom set of threads. Last night I easily unscrewed 7 of the 8 old cartridges and screwed in the new ones. However, the last cartridge won't budge. I've tried a crescent wrench, a box end wrench, an adjustable wrench, and a pass through socket (the ones with the hole in the center so that the stem passes through the center of the socket and I can get the socket onto the 5/8" hex fitting on the cartridge. I've been pretty careful, but, brass is soft and, when I started to round off the corners of the hex, I stopped. I sprayed on WD-40, but I suspect that it's having trouble getting past the O-ring.

I've thought about putting a Vise-Grip on the hex fitting and hoping I could loosen it up that way, and I've also thought about cutting off the stem and using a 6-point impact socket of the fitting. Of course, once I cut off the stem, I've got to be able to remove the cartridge, or I'll have to install a new valve if I can't.

Before I try anything else, I thought I'd test the assembled wisdom of this group and see if anyone has a bright idea. Thanks.

Reach4

Reaction score
Try your 5/8 impact socket and see, see if that will fit down over the threads with the shaft coming through the drive hole. Then grab the outside of the socket with the ViceGrip pliers.

Dj2

In the Trades
Reaction score
They make open wrenches especially for pulling stem out.