Can I plumb a rear-outlet toilet like this?

Users who are viewing this thread

Sjlammer

Reaction score
Hello,

Long time lurker. I have found this forum to be a great resource over the years. I am an water supply engineer, understand fluid mechanics, have done a fair amount of plumbing work for an amateur.

I was looking at friends new house and they had a rear outlet toilet plumbed into the waste stack.

I've looked online and I can't see where anyone is plumbing a rear outlet toilet like this so I wanted to run it by the experts.

Basically the setup I saw was rear outlet toilet, toilet flange, closet bend (turned to provide pitch), santitary tee cut into the waste stack. I went and bought the fittings to lay it out to make it easier to visualize. my gut says the inside miter of the closet bend is too tight to lay on it's side. If I made the decision on my own, I would opt for a long radius bend.

What do you guys think? I

Thanks for your help.

photo a.jpgphoto 1.jpgphoto 2.jpgphoto 3.jpgphoto 5.jpg

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
The problem with that closet bend that it is a "4x3 reducing" fitting, which means there will ALWAYS be water standing in the 4" section. You need a 4" closet bend. If you use a "long sweep" fitting, the wall is going to have to be much thicker to accommodate it.

MajMetro

Reaction score
I'm trying to work out something similar in my project. Not really happy about using a rear-outlet toilet, but "in theory" it solves most of my problems.

With no experience regarding these rear outlet units, would a toilet such as the Saniflo be able to flush cleanly through a 3 in horizontal run utilizing a 3" "long sweep" 90 to a 3x2x3 sani-tee, much like the configuration above?

I like the looks of the Kohler Barrington as it's a much "cleaner" finish install. Do any of the floor mounted, rear outlet units (like the Kohler) have a 3" outlet or are they all 4"?