Butt Splice Line Voltage Wires?

Users who are viewing this thread

BobJacobs

Reaction score
I normally use wire nuts to splice inside a box.

However I have one situation I think butt splice may be justified. I have a #12 stranded copper wire protruding barely 1.5" from the knock out hole inside the box. The previous owner had twisted a wire nut to it and an additional 8" piece, and now the nut is half way inside the connector and appeared strained. There is just no room to use wire nut in this situation.

I looked at replacing the wire completely with a longer run, but the conduit is quite full with a mix of solid and stranded and the other end is over eighty feet away and when I pulled the wire from that end a little, it didn't move, indications that perhaps there may be other intermediate junction boxes up in the attic and I am trying to avoid getting up there if possible.

I am thinking perhaps in this case, a butt splice may be my best bet?

I am not a pro, so my tools are limited and I don't have any special crimp tool. I found this particular connector.

Tyco Electronics SolderGrip Heat-Shrink/Solder Multiple Wire Butt Splices, 12-10, 10/Clam

8191291_9257094_290.jpg

More technical specifications found here.

http://www.raytech.co.at/products/PDF/ELECDEVS/SLDRGRIP.PDF?PHPSESSID=55624da5b720d20cea136e4a4f8911de

It seems this would be a pretty strong connection, combining adhesive, solder, and a heat shrink tube.

What I am wondering is if this type of butt splice connectors are designed to use for 110v line voltage or is it more for low voltage or automotive applications?