Building a basement shower from scratch

Users who are viewing this thread

L7tech

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a DIY builder by necessity. The plan was to fix up my old (1928) basement but had to spend a large part of the budget on structural (replace lintel) and outside (fix sinkhole) work.

Upon removing the old floor, I found dirt, no concrete slab.
The plumbing is now done and I'll have contractor pour concrete.

What I’m trying to figure out is how to build the bathroom / shower on the concrete.

The rest of the basement will have linoleum or vinyl planks on plywood.
What is the best way to build a bathroom / shower from the ground up?
Is there anything I have to make sure the contractor does while pouring concrete?
When making suggestions please bear in mind that while cost is important, ease of installation and long lasting result is even more important.

JohnfrWhipple

BATHROOM DESIGN & BUILD
Reaction score
....What is the best way to build a bathroom / shower from the ground up?.....

The best way is to build it custom and avoid any and all KITS. Ban Foam in your bathroom and do not allow it as a shower floor or wall material.

There is so much info you requested just now. What is the best way to replace your motor in a BMW? What is the best way to remove a tooth? You would have better luck asking the questions in smaller steps.

Should my builder do any prep work prior to placing the new concrete floor? Like 6 mil poly. Rigid insulation.

IS a bond breaker required for my slab pour? Can I use tuck tape here or sill gasket.

What kind of recess should I leave for a barrier free shower?

You need to get the scope of work and plan from your builder. Then post that info for use.

If you expect someone to take a day or two typing out every answer you will be waiting a long time.

ShowerDude

Showers
Reaction score
before you have a slab poured, consider youre code compliance in regards to headroom in your basement.