Build-up on top of water heater

Users who are viewing this thread

AlGreen

Reaction score
I have very little experience with water heaters, including what's normal and what's not. Which category does this build-up fall into?
2016-09-20 13.58.37.jpg
20160920_135704.jpg

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
The copper and the galvanized aren't happy with each other. The galvanized loses that battle. You may have a small leak there, helping things to rust.

AlGreen

Reaction score
The copper and the galvanized aren't happy with each other. The galvanized loses that battle. You may have a small leak there, helping things to rust.

Ah, ok. Makes sense. Is there anything I can do about this that doesn't require calling someone to replace a pipe?

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
Ah, ok. Makes sense. Is there anything I can do about this that doesn't require calling someone to replace a pipe?

How old is the water heater? If it's over ten years old, I wouldn't bother spending much time or money on it.
They don't often last longer than 15 years.

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
Website
www.weilhammerplumbing.com
there is not much you can do for this , I would leave it alone
also it might be a good idea to place a shim or leg under that thermal
expansion tank down to the top of the heater,,,
to displace the weight and stress on the copper pipes...
If that expansion tank is already water logged it weighs about 25 lbs and can be part of the issue being something that is causing extra stress on the pipes...at that joint...

Attachments

• 1514.jpg
    1514.jpg
    15.4 KB · Views: 184

AlGreen

Reaction score
there is not much you can do for this , I would leave it alone
also it might be a good idea to place a shim or leg under that thermal
expansion tank down to the top of the heater,,,