Bringing Old Softener Back to Service

Users who are viewing this thread

G2gGolfing

Reaction score
Hello,
I newbie here, I searched for awhile and didn't see the answer so I'll ask and I apologise in advance if this question is asked frequently.

I bought a house with a softener (enting with fleck from 1998) and it was working, but it would run out of soft water very quickly (Regen every other day) and I had lots of salt residue in my water. I was advised my softener was bad and needed to be replaced. I was about to buy a new one when my neighbor offered me their old one (they connected to city water). Their softener is a ecowater 3402 from 2007ish, but has been out of service for 2 years and it was stored indoors with water in the resin.

I tore my old one out and routed copper to the new softener. Cleaned out the brine tank and then added 3-4 gallons of water with about a half a cup of bleach (heard mixed things about using bleach, but couldn't find any other way to sanitize) and then regenerated. I added salt and then ran 2 more regenerations to be sure I got all the bleach out. I just added iron out and regenerated it again. This time I had iron coming out of my drinking faucets very dark at first then lightened up. I just ran another Regen with a 2nd batch of iron out thinking the softener was just heavily fouled with iron (still running).

Is there anything else I should do? My last softener was heavily fouled with iron, but I never found it in my drinking water that dark. My next thought is to Regen using rescare.

Hardness 23 grains
Iron: 1 ppm

Softener set to 28 grains and 12 min backflush.

Thanks in advance,
Garrett

G2gGolfing

Reaction score
Sorry for the double post, but to clarify, I assume the iron is from the iron out and I adjusted blackflush to 15 min on 2nd run. My question is, is the iron normal after Regen with iron out and is there anything else I should do to sanitize the softener or do anything else before servicing the house with it?