Best American Standard 12" Toilet for 11" Rough In

Users who are viewing this thread

Mattinwc79

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm new to this thread and a first time home buyer. We're redoing our bathroom and found that our rough-in will be about 11.0" - 11.25" from our finished wall (we'll have tile on the wall). Our contractor is telling us that we'd need to find a 10" toilet or a 12" toilet that will fit the space. I'm hoping someone has a recommendation for a good 12" rough in toilet, ideally concealed/skirted (so the pipes at the base aren't visible) that might fit this space. Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated!

I'm considering this toilet and hoping there might be some 'give':

Cadet 3 Flowise right height, round front concealed trapway, 1.28 GPF

cadet-3-flowise-01.jpg

Thank you!
Matt

Last edited by a moderator:

Reach4

Reaction score
How about a Vespin II or other Unifit Toto. I was thinking that the shoe molding clearance might be a little more for Vespin II than for Soiree. I don't know if you have baseboard or shoe molding.

I had a rough in of over 13 inches, and made my own holes in a 12 inch Unifit. With your numbers, you might not have to modify the Unifit. Just take advantages of the clearances in the holes.

https://terrylove.com/forums/index....rance-with-14-unifit-and-offset-flange.66596/ shows how I made my own holes, and illustrates why that should be OK.

I am not saying that toilet you are considering would have any problem fitting. The Unifit does give you the chance to tune the location if it does not fit initially for some reason.

Last edited:

FullySprinklered

In the Trades
Reaction score
Somewhere along the way I started roughing in toilet flanges at 11 1/2 inches off the bare studs. This would allow the tank to ultimately rest against the sheetrock. I thought it would be a good proactive measure against future damage in case there were to be teenage boys in the house.

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx