Bathtub replacement with shower pan

Users who are viewing this thread

Darrski

Reaction score
Hi

I have little experience with plumbing , so this question might look silly to most of you lol.
I'm replacing bathtub with L/H drain with a shower base with center drain . Do I have add a vent to the system or just run an extension from the shower drain to the trap that is already in place ( from the old tub )?

Thanks

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
You extend the trap arm and p-trap to below the drain.
You can also get a Swan shower power with a left or right hand drain. They come in 60X32

swan-fr-3260.jpg

Swan FR-3260

Last edited:

Darrski

Reaction score
Hi
Thanks Terry....I was hoping I can just run pipe from the drain to existing trap - ceiling below it is finished and access to the trap is very tight :-(

Thanks again

Derek

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
You need to maintain the proper slope of the trap arm. But, keep in mind that it is the trap that stops sewer gasses from getting into the room. Having a long arm getting to the trap means it can accumulate soap scum, oils, hair, etc., and start to smell nasty. If the trap is directly beneath the drain, that significantly decreases.

While it can work, you'd be much better off using a pan with an offset drain, or moving the drain to be under then new drain's location.

John Curry

Reaction score
Replace tub with shower

Newbie here.

My home is two years old. I had a tub installed (typical 60in end to end) with pre-fab wall panels on 3 sides when I had the house built. I have since changed my mind. I want a shower which was an option that I regret not getting. I have looked around online a bit and while I see some modular shower units (Sterling Enemble line) that are designed to "fit" right over where the tub was and would work for me, I see only 30in deep (front edge to back edge) and I want something deeper.