Bathtub Drain Tie-In - Help Needed!

Users who are viewing this thread

FeelingDrained

Reaction score
First, I just want to take a moment to thank Terry for this wonderful and informative forum! Although I have some remodeling experience, I have been reading quite a bit over the past few days, and have learned a great deal. Thank you!

Now, on to the problem at hand. Last week we discovered that water was leaking around our tub (a poorly installed insert, hiding a damaged tub and wall, installed by the previous homeowner before we bought the house). By this point, I have torn everything out down to the studs, and replaced any water damaged materials. I am now prepping for a new install in our 3 wall alcove. Since the alcove is large enough, we decided to upgrade to a slightly wider bathtub (previous tub was 30" and new tub is 32"), and as a result, will need to relocate the drain slightly. However, this is where the problem lies.

This tub is on the first floor, directly over concrete slab. There is a round opening approximately 12" where the PVC waste line enters the alcove, vertically from underneath, through a plastic sleeve that was presumably set when the foundation was poured. Whoever installed the previous bathtub cut the vertical drain pipe just long enough to clear the plastic sleeve, and then glued 2 PVC street elbows to the drain, and then glued the tub drain pipe directly to the street elbows. (After re-reading, this may sound confusing, so I've attached a photo to show what I am attempting to describe).

How can I remove the old tub drain, relocate the drain tie-in, and fix this?