Bathtub copper pipe leaking?

Users who are viewing this thread

Whellow

Reaction score
I pulled off the spout of our second floor bathroom bathtub because water was dripping out of it. The copper pipe (the "nipple" as I've read it being called) is also leaking a couple of drops of water. Is this normal? Is the spout supposed to keep those drips from coming through into the bathtub?

Thanks - bigtime plumbing newbie here.

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
The thing that is supposed to "keep those drops away" is the shut off valve for the tub/shower. You need to have the valve repaired. The spout dripping was a symptom NOT the problem. Put everything back together the way it was and call a plumber.

Whellow

Reaction score
Thanks hj. Are there shut off valves in each bathroom? Just wondering why my other second floor bathroom doesn't have any leaks.

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
A tub shower combo will drip for 35 minutes after use.
It takes that long for all the water to dry up in the pipes that are behind the tile.

Does it continue to leak two hours later?

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score