Bathroom remodel copper and brass drains

Users who are viewing this thread

big_rat

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am remodeling my bathroom. I removed all of the tile and mudbeds. I have copper drain pipes and what looks like a brass toilet flange. This is my first time working with shower drains. Looks like the previous shower leaked. I cannot access from under the floor because the room underneath is finished and I'm not planning to rip out the ceiling to do this work (also my wife will murder me if I cause any more damage...).

Shower drain:
The bottom part is currently flush with the subfloor planks (see attached pictures). I want to add 1/2" plywood to the floor. What are my options with installing the drain on top of the new plywood? Do I have to rip this drain out somehow and replace?

Toilet drain:
The toilet drain is too high up because the mudbed was very thick. The 1/2" plywood isn't going to come close to the mudbed height and I also prefer to lower the height of the floor because it was overly high to begin with. I have read that the brass flange can be heated up and pried off. Should I reuse the flange or can I find a matching flange in Home Depot or plumbing stores? If I remove the flange, how do I solder it in place so the flange is resting on the finished tile? Can I solder the pipe by adding solder from the inside after the floor is done?

My other thought which I would like to avoid if possible is cut out parts of the subfloor and replace the copper with PVC so I can redo the drain heights. I feel like I will open up another can of worms if I go down this path (I'm already up to my neck in work for this project). Thanks all!

Last edited:

CountryBumkin

Reaction score
When building a Shower there are several ways you can do the waterproofing. The PVC Liner method, a surface applied membrane (like Kerdi), and surface applied liquid membrane (like Hydroban).