bad drop in water pressure when more than one spigot/appliance is turned on.

Users who are viewing this thread

bigchuck80

Reaction score
First of all I am a NOVICE. Please be patient and simple with me. I am also a Fed worker who is furloughed, that is why I can't pay for a plumber at this time. Anyway, I had a water main line break a month ago and the line was replaced (plastic). Shortly after the repair, I have had a problem with water pressure or volume. The pressure to the meter from the street is 75lbs, which is good, and also tested on a spigot after the meter, also at 75lbs. If you turn on any spigot in the house, the water flow seems to be pretty good, as long as it is the only thing on, but as soon as a second spigot or water source is turned on, the pressure drops to almost nothing (a trickle). I have checked all of the shut off valves and they appear to be on. The plumber who repaired the line, came back and flushed the meter, but then scratched his head, said he had to research something, and he would call me back the next day. 4 days later he still hasn't returned a call. Any simple things that a novice like myself could check for? Also I don't have a PRV or an expansion tank. House was build mid 70's. Thank you.

Last edited:

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
First, check to see how much flow is coming out of the outside faucets. You should be able to run both of them very well.
75 PSI is very good pressure, and a mid 70's home often used 1" block poly pipe with insert fittings and hoseclamps on the water line.

If the outside faucets run well, check the aerators on the faucet and clean them. Shower heads may have also gotten clogged.
The tub should run very well. Normally outside faucets and tubs work well since they don't have screens.

I would hate to think that rocks got in the line and started clogging pipes inside where the fittings reduced.