Antisiphon Valve Headache, Just Weld It Shut?

Users who are viewing this thread

Terry709

Reaction score
I'm not a professional and not even a good DIY guy, so bear with my attempt to describe my projedct. A faucet installed outside is the frost free thing with the anti-siphon valve on top (has a round cap) which has always leaked water from under that round screwed on cap when the water is turned on. I replaced that part with a kit from Home Depot, screwed the cap down good and the water sprayed out worse than ever. Well, I've had it with this thing, so got some J-B Weld and glued the cap onto the faucet itself {after removing the inside part that the cap used to screw onto.} I'm going to turn the water on in the morning after the epoxy cures real good and see what happens. Is there anything to worry about by welding that cap on there? My simplistic reasoning is that it will simply function now like a faucet w/o the anti-siphon feature. Will my pipes explode or something awful happen?
Thanks for any input.
Terry709

Gary Swart

In the Trades
Reaction score
No explosion, but what do you suppose the "anti siphon" part of the description means? It mean that this will prevent contamination that might get into an attached hose from siphoning back into you home water supply. So, the pipes won't blow up and maybe nothing will happen to you or your family. A little Ecoli never hurt anyone...or yeah it did. Replace faucet.

Last edited by a moderator:

Jerome2877

In the Trades
Reaction score
While your at it why not plug your T&P valve on your water heater and see what might happen? You could get the explosion your talking about!

These devices are for your family and other peoples safety and are required by most codes.

Quarterball

In the Trades
Reaction score