Advice on connecting horizontal drain to Sewer main in crawl space

Users who are viewing this thread

stphn227

Reaction score
Hello, i'm re-doing my upstairs shower in my 1960s home in Middle Tennessee. To my horror, when I got the old stuff out and the subfloor up, I discovered my drain is all 1 1/2 inch PVC all the way to the cast iron sewer pipe in the crawl space. I am aware that 2 inch is the new standard for showers, so I began the work of updated the PVC to 2 inch pipe.

I'm a rookie here trying to learn as much as I can, but I do know that whoever did this work previously didn't do it right. I'm attaching a rough sketch of what I believe is the proper design acceptable for today's code. My main question that I can't seem to find an answer to, when connecting the horizontal run in the crawl space to the main sewage line (the cast iron pipe), should a sanitary tee or long sweep 90 be used? My other thing is about the vent in the middle of the crawl space (this was here before. Not sure of it's purpose of if its needed, but wasn't about to remove it since I had no issues previously with drainage). That should be able to use a sanitary tee on its back since it's for venting purposes, yes? Or should that also be using a combo wye?

All the tees/wyes in the crawl space before I touched anything were all santary tees on their back. So either that was acceptable at some point, or whoever did this plumbing didn't really know what they were doing i'm guessing.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

image0.jpeg

GReynolds929

Reaction score
Floor 1 tub/shower needs a vent. The vent in the middle of the horizontal run is not needed and does nothing. I'm assuming it is, but the way it's drawn shows the tub trap and drain above the floor, it needs to be below the floor. The rest looks like it'll work to me.

royalflush001

Reaction score