Advice needed on handling issue with HVAC company. Misdiagnosed problem. Who pays?

Users who are viewing this thread

Thinkly

Reaction score
I have run into an unusual situation with a local HVAC company and I need advice. I am incurring what I perceive as unfair charges based on a failed diagnosis by a representative of said local company. Here is what happened:

Early last week I noticed that water was collecting at the base of my indoor unit. I am not a professional but I am familiar with the design of the system enough to know that I had a likely issue with my coil pan or the condensate drain.

Last year at about exactly this time I had noticed a few drips of water pooling on the top of the furnace so I called the company out and had them clean the drain line. The tech vacuumed the excess water out of the pan and ran water through the line and it seemed to be OK at the time.

So when I saw the significant amount of water leaking I called a sales representative of the company who I had previously purchased a system from before. He is also the spouse of one of my wife's friends. When he arrived the induction motor had also apparently shorted or something of the sort because it was running as well, while in AC mode.

He quickly unplugged the induction motor and said, "you need a new coil pan." He wrote down the model# of the coil and left. Some time later he texted me and told me it would be $865 installed price for the coil and pan. I said OK and told him to get it scheduled.

A day or so later they came out and my wife was home to let them in to get started replacing the coil. I arrived about 30 minutes later and saw my old coil laying in the drive way. I quickly asked the install tech if the leak in the pan was very bad. I could tell right away by the look in his eyes and his mannerisms that there was an issue.