Adding Shower drain in Basement

Users who are viewing this thread

finesstan

Reaction score
I'm in the process of adding a shower drain in my basement. My house is fairly new only 2yrs old. I had rough ends for toilet and sink added in during initial contsruction but now I would like to have a shower also. Can anyone give me the best approach as to adding the drain. Can I tap into the existing cleanout stack that runs above the concrete slab or would I be better off breaking the concrete to connect shower drain up with cleanout plumbing below.

Thanks! Derrick

Jadnashua

Retired Defense Industry Engineer xxx
Reaction score
Break the concrete up and run a new drain line. Depending on how the vents are located, you probably will have to also run a new vent line. A shower drain needs to be a 2" run until it can run into a larger pipe. Ideally, it is also centered in the shower floor area.

Prashster

Reaction score
I'm doing a whole bathroom in my basement. I'm not a pro, but I've done a lot of research, and here's my 2c:

I believe the right way to do it is to trench through the concrete floor. You have to put a trap under the shower drain and have enough fall to your main stack, so if you don't trench, you'd have to raise the shower base.

Here's how I'd do it:

Call yr construction office and make sure your slab is about 4" thick with no rebar or mesh, etc in it.
Cut the sides of the trench with an electric concrete saw and a diamond blade. Rent these from a tool rental co. Cutting first will give you nice neat lines and avoid overbreaking the floor. Some may counsel you to use a regular circ saw or masonry blades. But my experience is that this will save only a few bucks, and it makes the job much harder.