ABS vs. PVC DWV

Users who are viewing this thread

Spaceman Spiff

Architect
Reaction score
I'm an ex-electrician / commercial architect building my own house. I know a bunch of residential but commercial is definitely my forte.

I specified cast for the vertical stacks, but the other day my plumber offers me a choice between PVC and ABS for all of the other runs. In all of my personal home renovation I've only seen ABS and didn't know PVC was an option. My plumber says it doesn't act like a noodle when it is in the sun for a while and is quieter than ABS.

Could I get some opinions and info so I can make an informed decision, please? I'm not worried about parts availability... the big orange box doesn't carry PVC, but there are numerous plumbing supply houses around.

Thanks!!!

hj

Master Plumber
Reaction score
Website
www.terrylove.com
pipe

IN most areas you do not get the choice. The supply houses in an area usually carry one or the other, with possibly is sprinkling of the alternate material. The pipe in your house is not going to be in the sun so it will not turn into a noodle, and since the pipe walls are the same thickness I doubt there is any material difference in sound transmission. But since the verticals are going to cast iron anyway, sound should not be a factor. This area is one that is all ABS and any drainage problems are usually caused by poor installation, not the pipe material.

Master Plumber Mark

Sensitivity trainer and plumber of mens souls
Reaction score
indianapolis indiana - land of the free, home of
Website
www.weilhammerplumbing.com
pvc sch 40 is the best.

get the pvc sch 40 pipe it is the most
heavy duty you can use......or get the pvc 40 foam core
which is supposed to be quieter ....

also on another note in the Mid West the ABS black stuff
was outlawed years ago because of fire safety issues....
cant even get it around here anymore.

in a fire they found that the pvc would only
smoulder and never really light up