A Simple question.....Why is there more than one code for plumbing!

Users who are viewing this thread

Rich B

DIY Senior Member
Reaction score
I am a general mechanic all my life. I am 62.....Worked in the Automotive field for many years. I have worked in the electro-mechanical field for nearly 20 years. Welders-Generators-related equipment-service-repair-installations.....

I find it amusing that plumbing has to be done according to a CODE.....

but the code is different depending where you are and how it's interpeted?

How can this be and why is it so......

I see references to at least 3 CODES that may be in use in your area......This makes NO sense to me whatsoever.....

Plumbing will work the same in one location as another unless I am missing something.............

Climate is about the only issue I see changing in various areas that might affect how and what you use to do some plumbing work.

I worked as an Electrician right out of highschool for a few years. Electricians have one set of rules......

These rules have drastically changed over the years and so has a lot of the materials used but they still work under one set of rules basically.

Somone explain to me the how and why about the plumbing codes......

P.S. BECAUSE thats the way it is, is not a good answer.....LOL

Terry

The Plumbing Wizard
Staff member
Reaction score
Website
terrylove.com
At one point, there was no code at all. And in many countries, there is no code. Try drinking the water there. You can't really do it.
In fact, the codes started here after a major problem with the drinking water and the deaths that occurred.
At that point, a code was written up, and adhered to.
Since we have fifty states, and many cities, we have many different additions and exceptions.