40/60 pump shuts off at 40 then drops dramatically

Users who are viewing this thread

dutchoven

Reaction score
My daughter told me that we had no water. I went into the well room and the psi gauge said 18 psi. I unplugged then plugged back in the well and it fired right up. But once it hit 40 psi (cut in) it shut off immediately and the pressure dropped in seconds. If I unplug it then back in it will usually kick back on but it repeats the same thing. The well pump is brand new as the plumber installed it and the pressure switch last week. The pressure tank is 5 years old and holds air fine. Thoughts on what could cause this?

Reach4

Reaction score
Is your pump a jet pump in the well room with a single pipe going down the well?

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro. So symptoms are that the pressure drops to maybe 18 PSI suddenly once the pump shuts off. That is odd.

I was thinking that maybe the check valve built into the pump failed, but why would the pressure not drop to zero? Bad pressure gauge? And why did this work for a week, and then stop.

I was wondering if the pump was a 3-wire pump, and there was a control box problem. Nope. you have a "2 wire" pump, and no control box is used..

I hope somebody can help diagnose your problem.

Craigpump

In the Trades
Reaction score
I had a call similar to this one not long ago, turned out there was a pressure relief valve at this pitless that was failing so the pump wouldn't build over 50 or so psi and then it would leak right off. When the pump was shut off the PRV would reseat but not hold.

Another possibility is that you have water running someplace and that prevents the system from holding pressure.

Get rid of the plumber and get a real pump tech in there

Reach4

Reaction score
If I unplug it then back in it will usually kick back on but it repeats the same thing. The well pump is brand new as the plumber installed it and the pressure switch last week.
Does your pressure switch look like this?