3 wire well pump , wired directly to pressure switch?

Users who are viewing this thread

Stanly Kristan

Reaction score
Hello everyone! Im new to well pumps . I purchased one hell of a fixer upper and the first thing i noticed was the insane hydro bill! i run leds for all my lights so it can only really be traced back to our well pump. I have no info on the pump from the previous owner. All i know is that its a 240v 3 wire red/blk/ylw 12 awg. It runs off a 20 amp breaker. Pumps in my area are usually 300-400 ft down in a 6 inch pipe. What im confused about is it has no controller, He had it directly wired from the panel 120v to red then the next 120 runs through the pressure switch and over to the black. yellow is not even used. wtf? Could this be my power consumption? Does anyone know of a controller i can use without knowing my hp size. My house uses almost double the power a regular household goes through and were living in the dark.

Last edited:

Stanly Kristan

Reaction score
i cant really tell since i dont have a current meter. it would come on i assume every time my tank lost enough pressure, since its just a smaller tank im assuming a fair bit. I read that one wire on the 3 wire pump is for starting and one is for running . could wiring it this way make it use only one of the options.

Stanly Kristan

Reaction score
Just turned the sink on and the pump turned on right away!!! Shit! Looks like i have abit of work to do to correct this. So heres another question. i bought a 26 gallon(100l) pressure tank, would it be worth it to also use an extra 20g tank i also have. It looks like im going to have to tear apart the system anyways and start from scratch so i might as well use what i have

Reach4

Reaction score
It is possible to determine what HP of pump is down there if you actually had 3 wires to a 3-wire pump. It would take supplying a DC voltage, measuring current of the flowing DC, and some voltage measurements.