120V 20 Gallon Electric has me stumped.

Users who are viewing this thread

synack2

Reaction score
I have a Little 20 Gallon 120V 2000 Watt. Electric with a Single Element. It is only about 3 months old. I have no hot water or maybe just a tiny bit warmer that the cold watter comming in but not much, probably just adjusting to room temp.

I am an Electrical Engineer so I have a fair amount of electrical Knowledge. Here is what I have done.

For 120 Volts @ 2000 Watts, I would expect to see 7.2 Ohms of Resistance on the Coil, and about 16.6 Amps of current drawn.

I removed all the connections from the Element. Measured it, and got 7.23 Ohms (Joy)

Measured both contacts on the element to the ground wire and the cold water pipe and got Infinite reading (No Shorts - Joy)

Hooked Element back up and plugged it in. Hear Expansion sounds like it is heating up. Test the voltage to the element and got 120Volts (Joy)

Waited an hour no hot water. Thought maybe it is plumbing related and the water is hot. I turn off hot water outlet and turn on hot water faucet and no water flows, so I have ruled out a crazy washing machine or something bridging the system. I then trip the pressure release valve a little and the water is cold.

Hmmm... Well I figure the only other test was to see if the element is drawing current, and how much its drawing. I snap the amp clamp on the black wire and get 16.7 Amps and the white wire and get 16.7 Amps and the Ground Wire and get a .002 Amps (Looks good to me - Joy)

Wait 2 hours, and test for hot water - still cold (NO JOY)

When working I would get from cold to hot in about 45 Minutes.

I am saying at this time if electric is present and flowing at the element and there is no hot water it has got to be the element no matter that all of the readings look perfect. Anyone have any other Ideas?

Last edited by a moderator:

Nukeman

Nuclear Engineer
Reaction score