100 to 200 Amp upgrade

Users who are viewing this thread

mlvk

Reaction score
Hi I just joined and would like to run an idea by some folks. I just got a used 200 Amp box given to me along with a bunch of breakers, and I want to install it. I've done this before along with a fair amount of other electrical work, though I'm not a licensed electrician. My town will allow me to pull a permit and do the work. What I want to do is install the 200Amp and then move the 100Amp to my attached garage and use it as a sub panel for a welder. The house is a split entry and the garage is under and about 40' away. It is pretty simple I think.

My problem is that the power company says I can't pull the meter or do any work on the outside of the house, (hook up 3 wires and the ground ?), without a license. Not sure that means I can't drive the ground rods!

My question is can I get a separate box installed with a 200Amp cut off, then wire that into my existing 100Amp? That would allow me to get that done and then do the rest of the work myself. I've never seen this, don't know if it would be code? Don't want to run it by the inspector either it will probably freak him out. I was a small contractor for many years used to know a bunch of fusers I could talk this over with but the are mostly dead. It seems like it should be ok unless the code prohibits it.

Thanks Mike

Stuff

Reaction score
To go to 200 amp you will most likely need to replace the meter box and cables feeding it.

Yes, your plan may be technically OK but lots of times a used box and breakers don't make sense.

Some places do a meter-main combo unit outside which would be the cleanest solution. Could use one with a 200amp breaker. Feed through lugs to go to your new panel, a 100amp plug in to feed your garage. Feeders after the disconnect need to be 4 wire with separate neutral from ground.