Search results

1. PaddyFahey

Tile choice for shower wall

Thanks. I got porcelain for the floor, with a good rating, but plain white tiles were only available in ceramic. There is a tile store on the other side of town, and I have some time, so I might take a drive out there to see what they have. The guy doing the tiling is a general handyman, and...
  2. PaddyFahey

Tile choice for shower wall

I'm a tile novice. We are tiling the walls on our shower (previously, was cultured marble). I just want plain white tiles. I looked at the local big box store, and the white ceramic tile they stock is by American Olean. the spec says 'non-vitreous', but the guy at the store said it would be fine...
  3. PaddyFahey

To relocate or not to relocate shower valve and head.

Thanks for all your help. I'm relocating the entire setup, with a spout, and replacing the valve and any plastic pipe and putting as much insulation as possible. The controls and the head will be on the external wall, but the spout and insulation should be enough to avoid freezing. It will make...
  4. PaddyFahey

OK, sold. I probably won't get a rain shower head. One more question - while I've got everything out and moving stuff around, is it worth replacing the mixing valve? It's a Delta unit, brass, and it's 25 years old. It's not the cost of the valve, just that I don't have the tools, and I'd need...
  5. PaddyFahey

I meant that the rain shower head would give less pressure. I've heard varying assessments of those. I would use the longer more vertical arm with a more conventional head. Paddy
  6. PaddyFahey

OK, thanks. Guess I violated the guidelines with the title... sorry! Jim - what do you mean, 'to drain that line'? You mean that after turning the shower off, the water from the showerhead would be able to run out of the toe tester? That's given me something to thing about. My preference is to...
  7. PaddyFahey