Search results

1. efinley

White paper: measuring 3-wire pump resistances with unknowns

Just to clarify, you are assuming Rblack, Ryellow and Rred are all equal? If so I think this is a solvable system of equation, but if not then it is not. It seems reasonable that each wire would have the same resistance unless you have a wiring problem. This just becomes a problem to be...
  2. efinley

I don't see how you are isolating the resistance of the wire from the pump. can you explain?
  3. efinley

As an electrical engineer I understand what you're trying to do, but no the why. Are you simply trying to create a higher current or higher voltage ohm meter?
  4. efinley

New system for storage tank

Another question. What kind of relay is recommended for switching the pump with the float switches? I've been using definate purpose contactors (they're mechanical) but I wonder if a solid state version would be better. Any thoughts or recommendations?
  5. efinley

Bad pump?

I recall reading from you that a pumptec has trouble with things like a dole valve because the current is near the dry run current. What is the difference in current between the pump dead heading (sort of a dole valve scenario) and dry running? I'm not doubting you, I'm trying to learn and...
  6. efinley

Bad pump?

Valveman, Why doesn't anyone make a dry pump protector that includes a flow meter? Why does everyone try to measure small differences in current to estimate flow when they could measure the flow directly? Is it simply cost or is there a technical reason. After spending thousands on getting a...
  7. efinley

Bad pump?

This was taken at the pumptec box right at the well head, so it really is only 380' down and 380' back.
  8. efinley

Bad pump?