Search results

1. kenwalkerconst

Opinions on what to do with house with low voltage lighting setup

These sound like GE RR7 relays. Latching relays that us a LV momentary contact switch to control them. 24 Volts control if I remember right but the relays are full 20A 120V capable. Any MOMENTARY switch could be use but you will need both on / off contacts...
  2. kenwalkerconst

Derating Confusion

I'm not sure I'm understanding the question in the first place but the two line legs of 110V carry the current and have a canceling effect with the neutral carrying the imbalance. Think about you service entrance cable, TWO line legs with ONE neutral. Theoretically if you could balance both line...
  3. kenwalkerconst

water smells like sewer water

I'm a new construction builder and not a plumber. Sadly I had resent experence with houses sitting unsold. Over time the water will sour especially in the hot water system ( tank ? ) and I've had to run 100's of gallons through these homes before it clears. You tell me, I don't know but I've had...
  4. kenwalkerconst

Need a professional plumbers opinion

You said; Without a "ferrule" it would have failed "immediately". Because my plumber at the time has been force to terminate his company / insurance, my insurance is forced to fill the gap and they said; "The evidence supports that there was likely a high pressure event that prompted the...
  5. kenwalkerconst

Well pump failure and electrical question. 1/2hp Goulds pump

I'm a homebuilder with electrical design background and happen to have a deep well system. Elect: Somebody above talked about starting amps, a motor at start is "lock rotor" until they start spinning and according to the motor / load have about 6X amps for that fraction of a second droping to...
  6. kenwalkerconst