Search results

1. Prashster

Pressure Reducing Valve Sweating?

Thanks for all those responses. I really appreciate it. I've ordered a new valve. It's a threaded union on both sides, so I doubt it was heated during installation...
  2. Prashster

Thanks, All. This has been happening over the span of several seasons at least. I only discovered the problem this Spring. But it's leaked about a gallon since then (I'm catching everything in a bucket). I was hesitant to fix bkz I figured it was condensation. But nothing else is...
  3. Prashster

I have a PRV just inside the main water shutoff of my house. I do not have an expansion tank. Recently, the PRV has started 'sweating' and driping. I took it apart and cleaned the gaskets, thinking it was that. But it's actually oozing out of the brass itself. How can this happen...
  4. Prashster

Re-soldering question from a DIY'er

Are you serious? I don't understand the point of your sarcasm except to say, "I'm a pro, you're an idiot." I meant 'supercleaned' as 'cleaned well'; even the slightest bit of oxidation or dirt has impeded (for ME) a good solder joint.
  5. Prashster

Re-soldering question from a DIY'er

From my own meager experience: Solder will stick to solder AND copper just fine, provided it's all supercleaned and fluxed.
  6. Prashster

Bathroom light/fan operate separately

I'm missing something in your diagram or in the responses given so far. IF your fan has a black and a red, then one powers the light and one powers the fan. If both of those wires are making into yr switch junction box, then you just have to wire one switch's load side to the red, and...
  7. Prashster

Fluidmaster..won't completely flush

I had the same problem on a valve I recently replaced; I was similarly already dialed to 9. These 2 things solved the prob: 1. I adjusted the float to stop at a higher water level. In addition to adding more water to the flush, it adds more force to the initial release of water into the...
  8. Prashster