Search results

1. Jacobsond

Smelly sump pit, green die not present

A sealed better pit and a little radon type fan is what we have used. You might want to try and enzyme treatment or 2 to eat up that stuff then a monthly treatment. That has worked for us also.
  2. Jacobsond

Resolved: Help needed with compression fittings

I would try the 2 piece compression with the ferrule 1st. I have never had to much trouble with those. Not so sure about those 1 piece things.
  3. Jacobsond

Why is it hard to get someone to install an air gap correctly?

Failing to read the instructions is never a valid excuse with anything. A homeowner could install that with a quick look at the directions. Maybe the plumber has been plumbing for 30yrs and has the I don't need instructions attitude. I'm not a plumber,but as a systems tech I deal with mostly...
  4. Jacobsond

A/C Short Cycling

A full system check requires a clean condenser coil. if your tech does not check that you need a new tech. Pressures on the gauges will not be correct and a tech that does not verify a clean coil could add refrigerant or take out some because of the pressure readings. If you paid someone to...
  5. Jacobsond

Can you touch a high tension power line?

Have you ever seen how they maintain those type of lines using a helicopter lowering workers onto the live lines to work. That would be a crazy job.
  6. Jacobsond

Water hammer in middle of night

I would get an expansion tank on there. Has the city put a check valve on your supply recently?
  7. Jacobsond

Dont touch the chrome

Most of you guys doing plumbing may be familiar with the saying Dont touch the chrome trap unless your willing to replace it all. Yep you guessed it I touched the chrome on this slow drain at work. I had to use a hammer chisel and just about anything else I could find to get the chrome trap off...
  8. Jacobsond

Not allowed to connect replacement water line to meter?