Search results

1. JOHN_P

Securing a freestanding faucet

I'm no expert and am sure others might have better ideas, but you might consider using a drop elbow mounted below the floor. See here for illustrations that might give you some ideas: http://plumbing.hardwarestore.com/52-332-brass-sweat-fittings.aspx
  2. JOHN_P

Help! how to take off old Gopher tub Faucet handles

Hi, I'm no expert but just finished two bathrooms, and since you have access to all of the plumbing and want to replace that anyway, why not just cut out the old pipes and replace everything with new? Since it looks like you're dealing with galvanized, if you replace with that, for a first time...
  3. JOHN_P

Landscape Fabric Under Tub?

I just put in a Sterling Vikrell tub, tossed the fabric and did the mortar base with thin plastic over it. All seems pretty good to me, and yes, I think all of the ridges might conform a little better to the mortar without the fabric.
  4. JOHN_P

Sterling Ensemble Shower -- A Few Questions

Hi DigitalMan, That's odd. I had purchased the tub from Home Depot, there was no felt pad, but returned that one and custom ordered a deeper 32" model. That one came with the felt pad (which I tossed because I did the mortar (and that turned out great though I was so worried when doing it)...
  5. JOHN_P

What kinda wrench would help?

I think you're looking at cutting away some of the stud in order to do that. You'll need to no matter what to put another elbow on. I'd go with a sharp chisel and cut just enough away that you'll be able to remove the elbow and hopefully you'll be able to use a channel lock type pliers or...
  6. JOHN_P

Remove old Tub shower and add a new one

After looking at a lot of tubs and surrounds, I'd recommend looking at the Kohler/Sterling Accord tub and surrounds. The tub is made to match up perfectly with the walls, they are very solid, look very very very nice. I looked at the Maax and Lasco products, but once I saw the Accord one, I...