Search results

1. W

dripping tub spout due to shower diverter?

Thanks for suggestion -- maybe I'm not understanding correctly re: handle instructions. The diverter is one of those pop-up type located on top of the tub spout. We don't have a single-handle control -- just hot and cold water knobs, tub spout with pop-up diverter, and the showerhead. Is it...
  2. W

p.s. to tub spout/shower diverter drip Looked around the forum after my last post -- someone who'd installed a new shower head posted about what seems to be the same problem -- described it as sort of a "gulp/drip, gulp/drip" noise. That's what is happening here - it's not just the routine...
  3. W

My tub fixtures are the old-fashioned separate hot and cold, and spout with diverter. I had a plumber replace the hot and cold valves a month or so ago -- he used ceramic replacements (I'm not an expert, but apparently those are supposed to be more durable????). ***The plumber tried to...
  4. W

My tub spout has a slow drip, apparently due to something either with the shower diverter/spout, or the way the pipes are configured. I first had the hot/cold faucets worked on, assuming that was the problem, and although they shut off completely, that didn't fix the drip. The slow drip goes...
  5. W

whitish water spotting - can water be oversoftened?

Thanks to everyone responding....No, I don't taste salt in the water (at least not that I notice). The hot water feels quite slippery like it should, but it dries looking just like hard water - very chalky. It sort of rubs clean, but still leaves a ring where the drop was. Vinegar or Lime-a-Way...
  6. W

whitish water spotting - can water be oversoftened?

I am getting whitish water spotting around my sinks and fixtures, anywhere where splattered water dries. I have a 13 year old water softener, which I *think* is working. I took water samples to the people who installed the softener - they pronounced the hot water to be "0 grains." (The only soft...