Search results

1. F

new boiler and indirect install w/pics

I am no boiler expert but the one thing that I see that bugs me is the plywood where you have the electronics mounted appears to be in close proximity to the exhaust stack. I personally would ditch that and use masonry anchors. I'll bet you are great at sweating copper pipes now.
  2. F

24v thermostat connection question

hey guys I just wanted to follow up and post my success on the first attempt! Had I taken a second to look at the wiring the old thermostat connected to at the furnace, I would have noticed that all the wires I needed to connect the 24v thermostat were right there and clearly labeled, no need...
  3. F

what kind of tubing for a radiant floor

there is a manufacturer called wirsbo that makes the tubing as well. I worked as a helper at an HVAC place one summer and saw some cool things done with it. One home had the driveway as a zone to keep snow and ice off. I'd love to set up radiant floor heat here but I would need to save and...
  4. F

excellent info gentlemen, thank you for posting. What I have in place is an old mechanical/ mercury thermostat. It does not require any external power to my knowledge. The replacement is a "power robbing" as maintenanceguy calls that type, made by carrier as linked above. I am...
  5. F

Single Pane Bay Windows

leave your plastic up and look into some heavy curtains, some have liners that are heavy making them a good insulator. I have a window that was installed poorly and leaks when it is windy, in the coldest months I use plastic then cover it with a thick blanket and that room stays much warmer.
  6. F

Also, a side question I have. I am connecting a heat exchanger from my wood stove to my existing furnace ducting. Air from the returns will be pushed across the exchanger and then to the hot air vents. How can I make the furnace run just the blower to maintain a temp with the...
  7. F