Search results

1. ScotDeerie

City girl needs help with country well/pump

Trouble is, I'm very rural here. My neighbors are either elderly or I know more than they do. My closest male neighbor comes to me when he needs power tools, home improvement advice, someone to paint, plaster, strip wood, kill spiders. <hee> I have a lot of experience in doing a lot of...
  2. ScotDeerie

You mean I should borrow them and not give them back?? :eek: What a great idea!! :D Giselle P.S. Yes, I'm joking.
  3. ScotDeerie

Nah, I wasn't scared as much as I was gettin' broke. Being as there isn't a man in the house, I don't have all those cool man-toys like pipe wrenches and welding units and such. At some point I had to decide that I had put enough money into and it was time to just sit and see what happened...
  4. ScotDeerie

Whooohooooo!!!!! It's thawed. Five days of sitting quietly with heat tape, insulation, and a garbage can shoved down on top of everything finally thawed the hydrant. It works fine; nothing cracked. And it was 3 degrees here this a.m. so it has to be just sitting under all that stuff...
  5. ScotDeerie

I guess so. This is an area I don't understand too well (no pun) but there is no pump above the ground so I guess if submersible is the only other choice, that's what it is.
  6. ScotDeerie

*hmph* Brag brag brag. :::black, cold, jealous thoughts::: I briefly toyed with heat lamps but the spigot stands alone in the middle of a lawn, unsheltered by anything. It's hard enough getting electric out there for the heat tape. And, yes, it did get into negative numbers here AGAIN...
  7. ScotDeerie

Yes. :p This little frozen spigot thingy notwithstanding, most times I'm downright sensible. (Except for wanting a draft horse to ride, I guess.) Unfortunately, 24-hours after putting on the heat tape and insulation, nothing has thawed. Crapola. My horses drink 40+ gallons of water or so a...
  8. ScotDeerie