What type pipe for plumbing well house? PVC unions? CSV placment?

Users who are viewing this thread

sherrod624

Reaction score
My existing well(1hp 25gpm submersible pump) was plumbed up with 1-1/4" galvanized from the drop pipe to the pressure tank and then poly out to the old house. I'm redoing the whole thing except not replacing the drop pipe. I planed on using pvc but I was raised to have a disliking for pvc unions. And because of that I have never used any. I've got 200' of 1-1/2" 200psi CTS PE from the well to the house.

Any issue with using pvc to plumb this up?

How do you guys feel about pvc unions?

Would it be worth switching from pvc to a brass union with a male adapter and then back to pvc?

does it matter if I install my CSV(CSV1A) horizontal or vertical?

thanks for your help

Reach4

Reaction score
I am not a pro.

I presume you don't have a pitless. Wilson county shows a 4 inch frost line. A pitless adapter makes it easy to pull a pump. You might consider that the next time you get the pump pulled, you could consider putting in a pitless and maybe a PVC drop pipe. With a pitless, a union would not be used. The freeze protection would be a bonus that might be useful some day.

If you are keeping the well seal, I don't have a suggestion for a union.

sherrod624

Reaction score