Need some quick help...urgent!

Users who are viewing this thread

MP_MKZ

Reaction score
So I installed a new vanity top that came with undermount sink. I am about to do the plumbing today. I noticed that the sink drain neck is not cast very well. It's imperfect. I used some two part epoxy to fill the space there. What do I do to make sure it does not leak. Putty, teflon dope, something else???

Attachments

• IMG_0534.JPG
    IMG_0534.JPG
    47.5 KB · Views: 359
  • IMG_0535.JPG
    IMG_0535.JPG
    47.7 KB · Views: 372

CountryBumkin

Reaction score
I guess your talking about the flat surface where the rubber gasket would sit. I can't tell from photos how imperfect the surface is. I would think the rubber gasket would conform to any imperfections. I use a little plumber's putty under the drain flange on the inside of the sink. I'm not a prof plumber - just passing on what I read/learned here.

Attachments

• popup drain.JPG
    popup drain.JPG
    22.2 KB · Views: 357

MP_MKZ

Reaction score
I guess your talking about the flat surface where the rubber gasket would sit. I can't tell from photos how imperfect the surface is. I would think the rubber gasket would conform to any imperfections. I use a little plumber's putty under the drain flange on the inside of the sink. I'm not a prof plumber - just passing on what I read/learned here.
Hi. Thanks. I know to use puddy under the popup rim. I am concerned about the spot where the rubber gasket meets the sink neck from the underside. I guess that does not have to be perfect??? I can always use some Rectorseal T plus 2 non gardening multipurpose paste on it. It's compatible with stuff like that.

MP_MKZ

Reaction score
Well the sink sealed fine. However the drain was too close to the sink and I could not do a 45 or a 90. I ended up letting my imagination run wild. What do you think?

Attachments

• IMG_0544.JPG
    IMG_0544.JPG
    43.5 KB · Views: 382

MP_MKZ

Reaction score
That takes the prize.